Tuesday, August 25, 2015

PRETEND by Riley Hart

Book Name: PRETEND

Series: Blackcreek #3

Author's Name: Riley Hart

Genre: M/M Contemporary Romance

Main Characters: Mason and Gavin

Release Date: December 29, 2014

Book Provided by: Amazon purchase

Reviewed by: Wendy

My Rating: 4 stars

Website ~ Goodreads ~ Facebook ~ Twitter ~ Amazon

Blurb: Mason Alexander thought all he wanted in life was something to call his own—something without the family name attached. He got that when he bought his bar in Blackcreek...but then a hard truth opens his eyes that he’s been lied to his whole life, and he’s tangled amid the family that loves him, a truth that haunts him, and torn between the life he wants for himself and the obligation he feels for his family. 
Gavin Davis knows a thing or two about living a double life. Being a gay man with strict Christian parents who believe he’s going to Hell, has never been easy. Instead of dealing, Gavin lost himself in his career. Teaching music gives him solace. So when he loses his job at a private school for helping out a gay kid, he feels like he lost more than a job. He lost his identity.
Blackcreek is a new start for both of them, two men, loyal to a fault, who both feel obligated to people in their lives. What Mason and Gavin don’t expect to find in each other is the place where they can be real. They know they want each other, it’s the rest of it they can’t figure out. Caught between loyalty, obligation, fear, tragedy and family, Mason and Gavin’s lives threaten to pull them away from each other if they don’t get real, and stop playing pretend, for good.

Review: Diving right into book three of this trilogy we meet Gavin, who is a friend of Braden's from high school, and is now renting Braden's house. Mason, the new bar owner of the local bar that all the guys hang out at, is immediately attracted to the soft spoken musician. Both men have family obligations that keep them from living the lives they both want and need. 

The heartache that each man has to deal with in this book sucks you into this well written story. Friendship, lust, jealousy and finally love are just a few steps we get to follow along with Mason and Gavin. 

No comments:

Post a Comment